Sri Lankan Government appoints Ajith Rajapakse as its Deputy Speaker

Ajith Rajapakse

SRI-LANKA: Today, Sri Lanka’s Parliament elected ruling party lawmaker Ajith Rajapakse as its Deputy Speaker though there was some ugly argument in parliament between parliamentarians over his election.

He was elected by a secret ballot conducted in Parliament, where lawmakers met for the first time since the resignation of the former Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa and the swearing-in of new Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe.

He secured 109 votes and the main Opposition party Samagi Jana Balawegaya candidate Rohini Kavirathna received 78 votes, Sri Lankan media reported. Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena said 23 votes were rejected.


During the procedure, Several lawmakers spoke against the vote, claiming it was a waste of Parliament’s valuable time. On the other hand, Some ruling party lawmakers and the independent group, including the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) urged the SJB and the government to reach a consensus and propose one name. However, both sides failed to reach a consensus.

A heated exchange took place between the Opposition, the government, and the Speaker. The Speaker later informed the House that if there is no consensus then he has no choice but to go for a vote.

We hope that this article helped you In some way or another! For more such information, follow us on InstagramFacebookTwitter, and Youtube, or simply subscribe to our newsletter.


(MARCH – APRIL 2022)

Also, read –

Sri Lanka Crises II UPDATES II PM Ranil Wickremesinghe held meeting with the World Bank and Asian Development Bank on the current Crises


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here